ridesite.blogg.se

Shifty powers taccoa
Shifty powers taccoa








shifty powers taccoa

Some articles have Google Maps embedded in them. This is feature allows you to search the site.

Shifty powers taccoa software#

Javascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. This is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. This is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. This is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site.

shifty powers taccoa

This is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. This is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service. This is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons. Especially to the veterans.įor more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: Show Details Necessary Please forward this to everyone you know.

shifty powers taccoa

Let's give Shifty his own Memorial Service, online, in our own quiet way. No wall to wall back to back 24x7 news coverage. Just knowing that there are still some who remember what we did and who still care is enough to make an old man very happy." His eyes were filling up as he said it.Īnd mine are brimming up now as I write this. When Shifty came forward, I got up out of the seat and told him I wanted him to have it, that I'd take his in coach. I sent the flight attendant back to get him and said that I wanted to switch seats.

shifty powers taccoa

I helped Shifty get onto the plane and then realized he was back in Coach while I was in First Class. And it's real sad because, these days, so few of the guys are left, and those that are, lots of them can't make the trip." My heart was in my throat and I didn't know what to say. I asked Shifty if he was on his way back from France, and he said "Yes. and then I realized that it was June, just after the anniversary of D-Day. " I was standing with a genuine war hero. I told him "yes, I know exactly where Normandy is, and I know what D-Day was." At that point he said "I also made a second jump into Holland, into Arnhem. do you know where Normandy is? " At this point my heart stopped. " at which point my heart skipped.Īt that point, again, very humbly, he said "I made the 5 training jumps at Toccoa, and then jumped into Normandy. Quietly and humbly, he said "Well, I guess I signed up in 1941 or so, and was in until sometime in 1945. I thanked him for his service, then asked him when he served, and how many jumps he made. He said quietly that he had been in the 101st. Making conversation, I asked him if he'd been in the 101st Airborne or if his son was serving. I offered to help, assured him that he was at the right gate, and noticed the "Screaming Eagle," the symbol of the 101st Airborne, on his hat. I just saw an elderly gentleman having trouble reading his ticket. I met Shifty in the Philadelphia airport several years ago. His character appears in all 10 episodes, and Shifty himself is interviewed in several of them. If you've seen Band of Brothers on HBO or the History Channel, you know Shifty. Shifty volunteered for the airborne in WWII and served with Easy Company of the 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, part of the 101st Airborne Infantry. Someone wrote it who had met Chuck Yeager. I received this in a message from my brother.










Shifty powers taccoa